HMS celebrates students at assembly

June 21, 2013 

Harrisonville Middle School honored numerous student accomplishments and showcased student talent during an assembly on the second to last day of classes May 23.

A boy and girl from each team at HMS were selected as the Students of the Year.

Those students earning Perfect Attendance for the 2012-13 school years were also recognized.

Eighth graders who maintained Principal’s Honor Roll status throughout their three years at HMS were also honored.

One of the annual awards at the HMS End-of-the-Year assembly is the Katie Rios Scholarship presentation. The scholarship is presented to an eighth grader for disbursement at the time of his/her graduation in memory of Katie Rios. This year’s recipient was Kelsey Youngblood.

A new award presented this year was the Donna Pfautsch HATS Scholarship. Like the Rios Scholarship, it is presented to an eighth grader for disbursement at the time of his/her graduation. The HATS Scholarship is awarded to an eighth grade HATS student on the academic excellence; diverse personal, academic, and community interests; a love for learning; and use of talent, imagination, and teamwork to accomplish goals, address challenges, and solve problems. The 2013 recipient was Jake Holden.

The assembly also included talent acts between awards’ presentation, as well as a slide show. Those performing at the assembly included Peyton Holden, Haley Holden, Aubrey Valentich and Rhee Szudarski, Oscar Tompkins, Ashlynne Martin, Tara Barnard, the Wildcat Chorale, the eighth grade Jazz Band, Abigail Cellenari, Britney Kingman, Lilly Harold, Baylee Streit, Dylan Flanner, CJ Fisher, Chad Culpepper, Reuben Hartzler, and the teachers.

Cass County Democrat Missourian is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service