Ray-Pec teacher, support staff award finalists

April 11, 2014 

The Raymore-Peculiar School District announces the finalists for Teacher of the Year and Support Staff Employee of the Year.

Teacher of the Year finalists are:

• Colleen Bennett, Peculiar Elementary School

• Gina Cleveland, Bridle Ridge Intermediate School

• Wil Codilla, Stonegate Elementary School

• Tricia Elmore, Timber Creek Elementary School

• Angie LaSala, Raymore Elementary School

• Kristin Mason, Raymore Elementary School

• Stephanie Morrison, Creekmoor Elementary School

• Heather Phillips, Raymore Elementary School

• Lisa Roberts, Ray-Pec High School

• Kris Schuler, Eagle Glen Intermediate School

Support Staff Employee of the Year finalists are:

• Lisa Baird, secretary at Creekmoor Elementary School

• Earnestine Clay, Panther Pride School Age Child Care

• Scott Dobson, Buildings and Grounds Department

• JoEllen Hainey, athletics/activities secretary at Ray-Pec High School

• Pam Hecker, secretary at Eagle Glen Intermediate School

• Ed Hruska, crossing guard at Eagle Glen Intermediate School

The finalists will be honored and the winners will be announced at a dinner event sponsored by the Raymore-Peculiar Public School Foundation. The event is scheduled for 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 7, in the south high school patio commons. You are invited to attend the dinner to show support for the finalists. The cost is $20 per person. To RSVP, or for more information, contact Pam Steele at the Administrative Services Center at 816-892-1311 or pam.steele@raypec.org.

More than 50 other teachers were nominated for Teacher of the Year, including Gillian Baehr, Peculiar Elementary; Amy Beck, Creekmoor; Elizabeth Breier, Bridle Ridge; Nikki Brewer, middle school; Jennifer Buckley, Bridle Ridge; Risa Bullard, Shull; Andrea Calkins, Creekmoor; Brenda Clayton, Stonegate; Matt Copeland, high school; Samantha Dobson, Bridle Ridge; Alan Downing, high school; Nikki Dudek, high school; Valarie Ellsworth, high school; Jessica Farrell, Timber Creek; Julie Fisher, Peculiar Elementary; Jeannie Frazier, high school; Dan Garrison, Bridle Ridge; Katie Goodin, Creekmoor; Rebecca Gooding, Eagle Glen; Pepper Grimm, Stonegate; James Huffman, Stonegate; Wendy Huffman, Stonegate; Jennifer Hutchens, high school; Roger Jacobs, Stonegate; Bill Koder, Eagle Glen; Jacqueline Lair, Stonegate; Jamie Lecuru, Peculiar Elementary; Jared Littlejohn, Bridle Ridge; Sara Moner, Stonegate; Tana Morrison, Shull; Johnna Mueller, high school; Nate Northcraft, Eagle Glen; Joe O’Neal, high school; Rebecca Oshel, Creekmoor; Cathy Pittman, Bridle Ridge; Wendell Pritchett, Bridle Ridge; Stephen Rew, Eagle Glen; Chris Roller, Peculiar Elementary; Leah Sapp, Eagle Glen; Melissa Schmidt, Eagle Glen; Elise Schnarr, Creekmoor; Dan Schwarz, high school; Michele Sherron, Eagle Glen; Ken Simon, high school; Lisa Swalwell, high school; Jennifer Talley, high school; Wendy Turner, high school; Julie Vannatter, high school; John Van Pelt, middle school; Jason Waltz, Eagle Glen; and Greg Watson, Bridle Ridge;

These other employees were also nominated for Support Staff Employee of the Year nominations were Gale Garten, secretary at the north high school; Christine Huggins, secretary at the north high school; Pat Mabary, paraprofessional at Shull; Sarah Miller, custodian at Ray-Pec Academy; Randy Norcross, custodian at Peculiar Elementary; Nichole Polley, teacher associate at Raymore Elementary; Sue Pillow, secretary at Timber Creek; Darlene Rexroad, nurse at Peculiar; and Sara Stephenson-Snyder, teacher associate at Shull.

Cass County Democrat Missourian is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service